My Lawyer Told Me to Refuse the Chemical Test in New York, Is that Right?
For the average motorist the sight of flashing lights in the rear view mirror is not a welcome sight. If you have been drinking before you got behind the wheel those flashing lights take on a heightened importance. Although most people don't plan to go out and drink and drive, people do often consider what they would do if stopped for drinking and driving. As such, we are often confronted with the following question: " My lawyer told me to refuse the chemical test in New York, is that right? " The truth is that there is no easy answer to that question; however, a better understanding of New York's refusal laws and penalties may help you answer it for yourself.
Like most states, the State of New York has an implied consent law. The implied consent law essentially states that you, as a motorist, give your implied consent to submit to a chemical test if you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe that you have been driving while intoxicated. Despite the fact that the laws says you have given your consent to a chemical test you are still able to refuse the test under most circumstances. Refusing, however, comes with its own set of potential penalties and consequences.
Refusing a chemical test in the State of New York will cause your driving privileges to be suspended for one year for the first refusal. A subsequent refusal will result in an 18 month suspension of your driving privileges. In addition, the fact that you refused to submit to a chemical test can be introduced at trial by the prosecutor and used as evidence of your guilt.
For most people, whether or not to submit to the chemical test comes down to an evaluation of the potential penalties faced for a conviction versus the penalties for a refusal. For example, a second DWI conviction within ten years in New York carries with it a potential punishment of up to four years in prison. Refusing the chemical test does not guarantee you will not be convicted; however, it does eliminate the possibility of using a high BAC test result to obtain a conviction. Therefore, you might decide that the 18 month license suspension is preferable to facing four years in prison.
For additional information or to discuss your pending DWI charges contact an experienced New York criminal defense attorney right away.
Free Case Review
Arrested? Hurt in Accident?
Get Help 24/7
- Am I Allowed to Represent Myself in My New York DWI Case? Why Should I Hire an Attorney?
- Can I Do a Treatment Program in New York City?
- Can I Use Mouthwash to Avoid DWI in New York City?
- Can the Police Search Your Home Without a Warrant in New York?
- Do You Know Your Rights?
- Do You Need a Lawyer before You're Charged?
- DWI Stop -- How Do I Respond When Asked If I Have Been Drinking?
- Free Report: Who will be on the Jury for my Criminal Jury Trial in New York?
- Free Report: Are You Eligible for Drug Court in New York?
- Free Report: Constructive Possession in New York - What It Is and Why It Matters
- Holiday DWI Checkpoints in New York
- How Can I Get Evidence Thrown Out or Suppressed in New York?
- How Can You Defend Someone You Know Is Guilty?
- How Long Can I Go to Jail for Selling Drugs in New York?
- How Much Will a DWI Lawyer Cost in New York City?
- How Often Do Medical Errors Occur?
- If a Police Officer Asks You to Take a Field Sobriety Test What Should You Do?
- I Was Caught Smuggling Drugs – Will I Go to Federal Prison?
- I Was Notified of a Probation Violation Hearing in New York. Do I Need an Attorney?
- My Lawyer Told Me to Refuse the Chemical Test in New York, Is that Right?
- New York Construction Sites Accidents: Fatalities and Safety Violations [Infographic]
- Penalties for Alcohol and Drug-Related Driving Violations in New York [infographic]
- Should I Take a Breathalyzer Test in New York?
- Should I Talk to the Police or Prosecutor after I am Arrested in New York or New Jersey?
- The Crime of Rape in the State of New York
- Top Five Mistakes Defendants Make in a New York DWI Case
- Types of Medical Errors
- What Are Pre-Trial Hearings?
- What Are the Penalties for Possession or Sale of Marijuana in New York?
- What Are the Possible Defenses to a DWI Charge?
- What Are the Possible Defenses to New York Sex Crimes Charges?
- What Are the Possible Defenses to the Sale of Drugs in New York?
- What Are the Possible Penalties for Drug Possession in New York?
- What Are the Possible Penalties for DWI in New York?
- What Behavior and Patterns the Police Look for When Searching Out Intoxicated Drivers
- What If the Police Didn't Read Me My Rights before Arresting Me for DWI in New York?
- What Is a Line-Up and Show Up?
- What Is a Misdemeanor DWI in New York City?
- What Is an Arraignment In New York?
- What Is an Illegal Search in New York?
- What Is a Search and Seizure in New York?
- What Is a Sentence Enhancement in New York?
- What Is a Wrongful Death Case?
- What Is Boating While Intoxicated in New York?
- What Is Constructive Possession?
- What Is the HGN Test?
- What Is the Officer Looking For When the Officer Asks Me to Follow a Pen Light?
- What Is the Punishment for Possession of Cocaine in New York City?
- What Is the Punishment for Possession of Oxycodone in New York City?
- What Takes Place at a Criminal Trial?
- Who Will Be on the Jury for My Criminal Jury Trial in New York?
- Will I Be Drug Tested in Court in New York?